New Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law – Effective as of 2/23/20

by Tom Vocatura on Mar 18, 2020 8:13:05 PM

Effective 2/23/2020, the new "hands free" law in MA makes it illegal for motor vehicle and bicycle operators to hold any electronic device or phone, including when stopped at stop signals or stop signs!Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law

Penalties for violating the hands-free law are:

1st offense - $100 fine
2nd offense - $250 fine, plus mandatory distracted driving education program
3rd offense - $500 fine, plus surcharge and distracted driver program.
The pamphlet below has more information. To read the entire law, please visit

Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law

How Can We Help?